Minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Joint Committee Meeting held in Council Chamber, Tauranga City Council, Administration Building, 91 Willow Street, Tauranga on Monday, 18 September 2017 commencing at 9.46 a.m.

Present:

Chairman: Mayor G Brownless (Tauranga City Council)

Deputy Chairman: Councillor D Love (Bay of Plenty Regional Council)

Appointees: Mayor J Forbes (Opotiki District Council), Deputy Mayor D

Donaldson (Alternate, Rotorua Lakes Council), Mayor A Bonne (Whakatane District Council), Mayor G Webber (Western Bay of

Plenty District Council)

In Attendance: C Naude (Director, Civil Defence Emergency Management Group),

C Morris (Manager, Recovery and Projects, Civil Defence Emergency Management Group), G Poole (Chief Executive Officer, Tauranga City Council), J Durham (Committee Advisor,

Bay of Plenty Regional Council)

Apologies: Mayor M Campbell (Kawerau District Council), Mayor S Chadwick

(Rotorua Lakes Council), Councillor S Browne (Alternate, Opotiki District Council), Chairman D Leeder (Alternate, Bay of Plenty Regional Council), Deputy Mayor F Tunui (Alternate, Kawerau

District Council)

1 Apologies

That the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Joint Committee under its delegated authority:

1 Accepts the apologies of; Mayor M Campbell, Mayor S Chadwick, Councillor S Browne, Chairman D Leeder, and Deputy Mayor F Tunui.

Brownless/Love CARRIED

2 General Business and Tabled Items

Nil.

3 Public Forum

Nil.

4 Declaration of conflicts of interest

There were no conflicts of interest.

5 Reports

5.1 Civil Defence Emergency Management Controller and Recovery Manager Amendments

Director of Civil Defence Emergency Management Group advised members that due to Whakatāne District Council requesting the appointment of a new Local Recovery Manager, it was an opportunity to formally update the appointments and rescindments of authority, as is legally required under the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.

That the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Joint Committee under its delegated authority:

- 1 Receives the report, Civil Defence Emergency Management Controller and Recovery Manager Amendments;
- 2 Appoints Marcus Goldsbury and Bruce Horne of Rotorua Lakes Council, to act as Alternate Local Controllers for the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, as defined under s27 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.
- 3 Appoints Barbara Dempsey to act as a Local Recovery Manager for the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, Whakatane District Council as defined under s30 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.
- 4 Appoints Chris Hopman of Opotiki District Council to act as a Local Controller for the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, as defined under s27 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.
- 5 Rescinds the authority of Andrew Morrison to act as Local Controller for the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, Kawerau District Council, as defined under s27 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.
- 6 Rescinds the authority of Peter Clark to act as Local Recovery Manager for the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, Western Bay of Plenty District Council, as defined under s30 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002.
- 7 Confirms that the decision has a low level of significance.

Love/Webber CARRIED

6 Consideration of General Business

Nil.

The meeting closed at 9.49 a.m.

A2701234 2